World Rugby honour for Speckmagic

Posted on Oct 30 2017 - 8:15pm by Mike Jansen ([email protected])

Monday, 30 October 2017


The Springbok Sevens team’s speedster Rosko Specman was on Monday named as one of three candidates for the World Rugby Sevens Player of the Year.

Specman was named together with the Eagles Sevens’ Perry Baker and newly-appointed Fiji Sevens captain Seremaia Tuwai Vunisa (known to all as Jerry Tuwai).

The Men’s Sevens Player of the Year 2017 award, in association with HSBC, which will be presented at the World Rugby Awards at the Salle des Etoiles in Monte Carlo on 26 November.

SA Rugby president Mark Alexander heaped praise on Specman: “The fact that we had the previous two winners in Werner Kok (2015) and Seabelo Senatla (2016) proves that Springbok Sevens coach Neil Powell and his team are doing something right.

The shortlist was selected by participating team managers, match officials and commentators on the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series 2016-17.

BlitzBokke coach Neil Powell said it is gratifying to see their system producing players of the highest calibre: “It is always a team effort and knowing how much Rosko contribute in that system, his nomination is just reward.

He had an unbelievable season and always delivered when we needed him to. It is no coincidence that he was part of all five tournament wins last season, something in itself a magnificent performance.”

Previous World Rugby Men’s Sevens Player of the Year Award winners from South Africa are:

2016 – Seabelo Senatla
2015 – Werner Kok
2011 – Cecil Afrika