3 new call-ups to Bok training squad

Posted on Feb 28 2010 - 10:21pm by Mike Jansen ([email protected])

The BlitzBokke return to their Stellenbosch HQ tomorrow to resume their preparation for the next two legs of the IRB Sevens World Series.

Coach Paul Treu has named a 22-man training squad in preparation for the Adelaide Sevens and a week later, the Cathay Pacific/Credit Suisse Hong Kong Sevens.

In naming his squad who will report to Stellenbosh tomorrow, Treu added three new names to his core squad, namely Bryan Shabangu (The Sharks), Marcel Brache (Ikeys) and Sampie Mastriet (Vodacom Blue Bulls).

Stellies here I come! The Blue Bulls’ Sampie Mastriet

South Africa will kick off their quest for a third successive Adelaide crown in Pool C alongside USA Sevens champions Samoa, France and Japan in the 19-21 March event. A week later their pool opponents will be Kenya, Zimbabwe and Korea at the Hong Kong Sevens. The defending World Series champions are currently seventh on the log.

Simphiwe Brian Shabangu (Pic: SARU)

Renfred Dazel, a key member of last season’s championship-winning team, was not considered because of a knee injury. The injury has sidelined the play-maker since the end of last season.

The “gherkin” ? WTF?  UCT’s Marcel Brache (Pic: uctrfc.co.za)

Powerful back stalwart Ryno Benjamin will continue his rehabilitation in Stellenbosch this week after he missed the last day’s action in Las Vegas due to a damaged knee ligament.

The SA Sevens’ management team will continue to monitor the recovery of captain, Paul Delport (ankle) and veteran Neil Powell (shoulder).

The Springbok Sevens training squad to assemble tomorrow in Stellenbosch is:

Chase Minnaar, Kyle Brown, Frankie Horne, Shaun Venter, Cecil Afrika, Ryno Benjamin, MJ Mentz, Chris Dry, Mpho Mbiyozo, JW Jonker, Mzwandile Stick, Jonathan Adendorf, Paul Delport, Marius Schoeman, Neil Powell (all contracted to SARU),

Hoffman Maritz (Vodacom Free State Cheetahs), Branco du Preez (Vodacom Blue Bulls) , Steven Hunt (Vodacom Western Province), Phillip van der Walt (Vodacom Cheetahs U21), Bryan Shabangu (The Sharks), Marcel Brache (Ikeys), Sampie Mastriet (Vodacom Blue Bulls).